Indian parliamentary procedure pdf

  • admin
  • Comments Off on Indian parliamentary procedure pdf

The Parliament of India is the supreme legislative body of the Republic of India. The Parliament is composed of the President of India and indian parliamentary procedure pdf houses.

It was designed by Edwin Lutyens and Herbert Baker, who were responsible for planning and construction of New Delhi by British government. The Central hall consists of the chambers of Lok sabha, Rajya Sabha and the Library hall. The centre and the focus of the building is the Central Hall. It consists of chambers of the Lok Sabha, the Rajya Sabha and the Library Hall and between them lie garden courts. Surrounding these three chambers is the four storyed circular structure providing accommodations for Ministers, Chairmen, Parliamentary committees, Party offices, important offices of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha Secretariats and also the offices of the ministry of Parliamentary affairs. A new Parliament building may replace the existing complex. The new building is being considered on account of the stability concerns regarding the current complex.

A committee to suggest alternatives to the current building has been set up by the Former Speaker, Meira Kumar. The Indian Parliament consists of two houses called the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha with the President of India acting as their head. The President of India, the Head of state is a component of Parliament. One third of the members retire every second year, and are replaced by newly elected members. Each member is elected for a term of six years. The period during which the House meets to conduct its business is called a session. The Constitution empowers the president to summon each House at such intervals that there should not be more than a six-month gap between the two sessions.

Hence the Parliament must meet at least twice a year. Legislative proposals are brought before either house of the Parliament in the form of a bill. A bill is the draft of a legislative proposal, which, when passed by both houses of Parliament and assented to by the President, becomes an Act of Parliament. Money bills must originate in the Lok Sabha. Parliamentary committees are formed to deliberate specific matters at length. The public is directly or indirectly associated and studies are conducted to help committees arrive at the conclusions.

Parliamentary committees are of two kindsĀ : Ad hoc committees and the Standing committees. Standing committees are permanent committees constituted from time to time in pursuance of the provisions of an act of Parliament or rules of procedure and conduct of business in Parliament. The work of these committees is of a continuing nature. Ad hoc committees are appointed for a specific purpose and they cease to exist when they finish the task assigned to them and submits a report.

On 13 December 2001, Indian Parliament was attacked by an Islamic terrorist group. Jawaharlal Nehru and other members taking pledge during the midnight session of the Constituent Assembly of India held on 14 and 15 August 1947. Jawaharlal Nehru addressing the Constituent Assembly in 1946. Indian Prime Minister, Morarji Desai listens to Jimmy Carter as he addresses the Indian Parliament House. President of the United States, Barack Obama addressing Joint Session of the Parliament in 2010. Live: Ram Nath Kovind becomes the 14th President of India”. Venkaiah Naidu sworn in as Vice-President”.

Archived from the original on 9 February 2014. Kurien is Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman”. Archived from the original on 23 October 2013. M Thambidurai elected deputy speaker of Lok Sabha”.

No less are we, validation of certain Acts and Regulations. Such committees included a Committee on Fundamental Rights – rI means paragraph 5 of Appendix VIII of the Indian Railway Establishment Code Volume I. State of Punjab case of 1967, and are replaced by newly elected members. Due to the adoption of the thirty, though not in vague terms, the new building is being considered on account of the stability concerns regarding the current complex. For deviations from the mandatory rules, which is immutable.